Please enter your username and email address. Get new password
Register Now

Ghana Movie Awards organizers ban short dresses on award night


The organizers of the 2016 Ghana Movie Awards have stated that guests who wear short or revealing clothes will not be allowed in.

Founder of the awards, Fred Nuamah said this on Accra based Hitz FM.

“The prescribed attire for the awards is tuxedo or black tie for the men and evening/dinner gown for the ladies. No short dresses will be allowed,” he said.

The 2016 Ghana Movie Awards will be held at the Kempinski Gold Coast Hotel on December 4, 2016.

Below is the full nomination list:

Actor In A Leading Role

Jose Tolbert –       True Lies

Eddie Watson –       If God Be For Us

Alphones Menyo –       Utopia

Van Vicker –       Black Money

Adjetey Annan         –       Children Of The Mountain

Actress In A Leading Role

Nana Ama Mac Brown- Na Me Nnim

Yvonne Nelson –       In April

Rukiyat Masud –       Children Of The Mountain

Kalsoume Sinare –       Sala

Ophelia Dzidzornu –       Like Cotton Twines

Actor In A Supporting Role

John Dumelo –       Amakye And Dede

Fred Amugi –       Beautiful Ruins

Ian Wordi –       Sala

Kwadwo Nkansah –       Fault

Akrobeto         –       Na Me Nnim

Actress In A Supporting Role

Jackie Appiah –       Sala

Akofa Edjeani –       Children Of The Mountain

Luckie Lawson –       Like Cotton Twines

Yvonne Okoro –       Like Cotton Twines

Roselyn Ngissah –       Amakye And Dede


Sala –       Tunde Adekoya

Purple –       Prince Dovlo

Like Cotton Twines –       Pietro Villani

Children Of The Mountain- Eli Wallace Johansson

Amakye And Dede –       Richard Kelly Doe

Costume And Wardrobe

Happily Ever After –       Clara Asantewaa

Sala –       Fauzia Yakabu

Like Cotton Twines –       Awo Ahiable

Pieli –       Yahaya Latifa

Black Monkey –       Joyce Agyabea And George Attabrah


Sala –       Kobby Rana

Like Cotton Twines –       Leila Djansi

Amakye And Dede –       Kofi Asamoah

Black Monkey –       Frank Gharbin

Children Of The Mountain- Priscilla Anany

Make-Up And Hairstyling

Black Monkey –       Jude Odoh And Jamila Dabre

Pieli –       Alhassan Ibrahim

Fault –       Jude Odoh And Doris Appiah

Sala –       Judith Adzovie

Pieli –       Alhassan Ibrahim

Music (Original Score)

Amakye And Dede –       Skerie Badman

Sala –       Austin Erowele

Children Of The Mountain- Gabriel Dimero

Like Cotton Twines –       Clayton Worbeck

Anniversary –       Afe Olomowe

Music (Original Song)

Like Cotton Twines –       Yaayaa

Amakye And Dede –       Skerie Badman

Purple –       Kelvin Broni

Children Of The Mountain- Ben Amakye And Gabriel Dimaro

Benny Anti –       True Lies

Production Design

Like Cotton Twines –       Tomety Tony

Children Of The Mountain- Felize Saforo

Purple –       Prince Dovlo

Utopia –       Mark Offei

Sala –       Micheal Kabu And Samira Yakubu

Sound Mixing And Editing

Purple –       Arnord Teiku-Baah And Alex Bigah

Like Cotton Twines –       Alex Chabot

Children Of The Mountain- Allison Gregory

Sala –       Austin Erowele

Amakye And Dede –       Kofi Asamoah

Visual Effects

Show Mercy –       Ninja

Sala –       Afua Marley

Purple –       Prince Dovlo

Pieli – Obi Studios

Writing (Adapted Or Original Screen Play)                       

Sala –       Kobby Rana

True Lies –       Micheal Amponsah

Like Cotton Twines – Leila Djansi

Beautiful Ruins –       Eddie Nartey

Children Of The Mountain- Princilla Anany


Kelvin Broni –       Purple

Emman Sinare –       Sala

Yaw Dabo –       Amakye And Dede

Regina Van-Helvert –       In April

Wiyaala –       No Man’s Land

Benedicta Gafah –       Utopia

Adam-Abdul Hanan –       Pieli

Samira Adams –       True Lies

Samuel Bravo –       You May Kill The Bride

Umar Krupp         –       Amakye And Dede


Amakye And Dede –       Kofi Awuah And Majid Abdul

Children Of The Mountain  – Elizabeth Lee

Like Cotton Twins –       Tang Yu

Sala              –       Afra Marley And Peter Mensah

You May Kill The Bride –       Abu Idi

Best Picture

Like Cotton Twins –       (Producers) Leila Djansi And Akorfa Djankui

Children Of The Mountain – Priscilla Anany

Amakye And Dede –       Kofi Asamoah

Black Monkey     –       Frank Gharbin

True Lies                –     Abdul Salam

Sala                           –    (Producers) Farueda Sinare, Samira Yakubu And Kalsorme Sinare

Purple           –       Prince Dovlo

Utopia              –       Alphonse Menyo

Pieli              –       Leonard Kubaloe

Anniversary –       Zynnell Zuh

Short Movie

Hope                        –       Juliet Ibrahim

Her First Time         –       Pascal Aka

Yaa                                 –       Esi Yamoah

Honourable       –       Jerry

Best Actor African Collaboration

Ayo Makun                 –       A Trip To Jamaica

Deyemi Okankwon         –       No Man’s Land

Gideon Okeke         –       Anniversary

Emmanuel Ikubese        –       True Lies

Best Actress African Collaboration

Mercy Johnson         –       Troubled Heart

Ebube Nwagbo             –       Anniversary

Funke Akindele         –       A Trip To Jamaica

Nse Ikpe Etim            –       A Trip To Jamaica

Lead Actor In A Comedy Series

Funny Face   –  Cow And Chicken  (Utv)

Mikey Osei Berko  –   Guy Guy   (Tv3)

Kwame  Dzokoto  –   Efiewura  (Tv3)

Kofi Adjorlolo  –  Office Palava  (Viasat 1)

Toosweet  Annan   –  The Idiot And I  (Viasat 1)

Best Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

Babie Dapaah  –   Cow And Chicken  (Utv)

Nikki Samonas   –  Guy Guy  (Tv3)

Gloria Sarfo  –  Efiewura  (Tv3)

Linda  Allotey  –   Pay Day   (Utv)

Afia Schwarzengger    –  Afia Schwarzengger  (Vasat 1)

Best Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

Bismark Nii Odoi  –  Cow And Chicken

Richard Asante (Kalybos)  – Guy Guy

Agya Asare  –  Efiewura

Nii Adjetefio  –  Master And The Three Idiots

Hogan Gabriel  –  Guy Guy

Best Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

Helen Asante   –  Guy Guy

Grace Omaboe (Maame Dokono)  –  Guy Guy

Lisbeth Gyanwaah  –  Pay Day

Ama Abdortz  –  Master And The 3 Maids

Akyla Liverpool   –  The Idiot And I

Best Comedy Series

Guy Guy  –  Tv3

Cow And Chicken  –  Utv

Office Palava  –  Viasat 1

Efiewura  –  Tv3

Jamestown Fisherman  –  Viasat 1

Foreign Tv Series (For Tv Stations)

Simple Maria   –  Utv

Abyss Of Passion  –  Tv3

Kumkum Bagya  –  Adom Tv

Strange Love  –  Joy Prime

Queen Of Heart  –  Vasat 1

Best Writing Tv Series

Shirley Frimpong Manso  –  Shampaign

Guy Guy  –   Ras Boateng

An African City  –  Nicole Amartefio

Ivan Quashigah  –  Yolo

Heels And Sneekers  –  Richie Writer

Best Directing Tv Series

Shampaign  –  Shirley Frimpong Manso

Yolo  –  Ivan Quashigah

Guy Guy  –  Kofi Asamoah

Cow And Chicken  –  Sammy Fision

Heels And Sneakers  –  Maxwell Amuni

Best Supporting Actor Drama

Blossom Chukwujek  –  Shampaign

John Peassah (Drogba)  -Yolo

Desmond Danso-Sakyi  –  Yolo

Fritz Johnson  –  Heels And Sneakers

Deyemi Okankwon  –   An African City

Best Supporting Actress Drama

Mahalia Bamford  –  Heels And Sneakers

Obeniwaa  –  Coco Brown

Makafui Fela  –  Yolo

Lynn Bentil  –  Shampaign

Maame Yaa Boafo  –  An African City

Best Drama Series

Heels And Sneakers



An African City

Coco Brown

Best Actor Drama Series

Jasony El Agha  –  Heels And Sneakers

J.O.T Agyeman  –  Shampaign

Aaron Adatsi  –  Yolo

Mawuli Gava  –  An African City

Kweku Eliot  –  Coco Brown

Best Actress Drama Series

Joselyn Dumas  –  Shampaign

Marie Humbert  –  An African City

Andrea Owusu  –  Heels And Sneakers

Queenstar Anaafi  –  Yolo

Ahuofe Patricia  –  Coco Brown

Discovery Of The Year Tv Series

Makafui Fella  –  Yolo

John Peassah (Drogba)  -Yolo

Shirley Timbillah  – Shampaign

Andrea Owusu   –  Heels And Sneakers

Marie Humbert  – An African City


0 thoughts on “Ghana Movie Awards organizers ban short dresses on award night”

Leave a Reply

Latest Video

Upcoming Events

Latest Tweets

Music Chart